Skip to content

Surprise surgery date!

March 16, 2011

Several weeks ago, I decided on a top surgeon: the one who performs the extended periareolar method. I asked his secretary to book a date, but she forgot to call us back; so I didn’t have any updates until last week, when I had another appointment with him. As it turns out, I was booked for this week — more precisely, tomorrow!

The surgeon gave us a few days to think about it, given that we’d just found out (“us” is my parents and I — they’re amazingly involved). The timing is almost perfect as I haven’t started school yet, so we’ve decided to go for it. I couldn’t believe it was really happening until yesterday, when I showed the doctor my last lab results, and I had a million pre-op tasks to do that kept me from posting here.

I always thought that I’d burst of nervousness the days before surgery, but I’ve felt oddly calm since setting the date a week ago. I’m not overly worried about the surgery itself: there are risks, but I’m in great health; and I’ve decided it’s worth it. I’m not too concerned about the aesthetic results, either: I’ve thought about that thoroughly before choosing a surgeon, so I have the peace of mind of knowing I made the right choice.

Actually, my main concerns right now are (1) how my parents will feel during surgery — the waiting time must be awful; (2) how I’ll feel in the clinic before surgery — the preparations are probably unnerving; and (3) being weak for several weeks post-op, since my commute to school will be physically demanding. Mostly, I’m just glad I’m getting this done.

I should go now, to eat & drink for the last time before surgery, and to say goodbye to my breasts. Readers and future chest: I’ll see you all tomorrow!

PS: Here’s a relevant quote by Jamison Green that I found:

Understanding the surgery one is seeking requires accepting the fact that one is altering his body and that he will never have the body with which he should have been born. This means accepting the limitations that his body has before he gets on the operating table, and accepting that he will not come out of this scarless, without wounds, or without compromises. That is not to say that transmen can’t keep working and hoping for improvements – we can and we do. But we have to live in our bodies one way or another. We need to know how much imperfection we can handle. Identifying as a transsexual means we have signed up to consider these questions. not to do so is to invite disaster.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 3:33 pm

    I like the quote. Don’t worry, you’ll be up and awake in a few hours and feeling great (or not so great, but at least awake). Good luck!
    Te deseo todo lo mejor.

  2. March 16, 2011 9:37 pm

    Wow! That means you must be at the hospital right now, either waiting or already in surgery. My thoughts are with you, Gender Kid!

  3. genderkid permalink*
    March 17, 2011 2:56 pm

    Thank you! I’ve come out all right, health-wise, and I got to peek at my chest: it’s a lot less scary than I thought it’d be!

    Again, thanks! I’ve felt a lot of support both from people I know in real-life and people I know online, and I’m very grateful.

  4. March 20, 2011 12:03 am

    Holy spontaneousness! C-O-N-G-R-A-T-U-L-A-T-I-O-N-S and how exciting! I can’t wait for you to post about life post-surgery. And about how scary the preparations pre-surgery actually are (I also anticipate being scared of that). ;)

    I’m ripping off the Jamison Green quote and throwing it up on my blog, fyi.

  5. gunk permalink
    March 20, 2011 10:49 pm

    Wow! That’s awesome, genderkid! So happy for you, I hope the recovery goes well and that your results are just what you would hope for.
    Take it easy.

  6. Jason permalink
    April 11, 2011 6:59 pm

    I am new to this site; I do not know you, genderkid, apart from this post. I’m a sailor in the Navy where being trans is illegal. I have to stay as undercover as possible until my enlistment is up. But I have questions and I need support. I’m proud of you for what you must have overcome thus far, and ask for advice. First of all…what is the best way to bind? I’ve been using ace bandages but after a couple hours of marching and shit, I can’t breath. I need help. If you respond to this, I’d like to ask more questions, like where to ask questions and where I can get information. Again, congratulations on ur surgery and good luck. Thank you, Jay Navy

Leave a Reply

