Skip to content

A new year’s resolution?

December 31, 2010

I haven’t posted in a long time. It’s true that now I don’t have such an intense need to explore my identity through writing, but I still think a lot about gender, trans issues and transition, and blogging is a good way to discuss these ideas with you all. So I loved Jacky’s proposal to take up WordPress’s weekly post challenge.

When I first started posting, I felt encouraged by several bloggers who were also exploring their identities or who were chronicling their transitions (Ryan, Jacky, Luke, Julian, Eliot, Joshua, Malcolm…). Most of these people gradually stopped posting, and at the same time a vibrant trans community developed on Tumblr and Youtube. I wonder if everyone moved there; maybe there still are traditional blogs which are trans-oriented and active, and the reason I haven’t found them is that I stopped looking.

Either way, I wanted to thank Jacky for the nudge back to blogging. For me, it’s one of the best ways to sort out my thoughts and challenge myself intellectually, and I get the same rewards from reading other people’s posts. Expect posts on the language of transition, and top surgery, and why I no longer think I’m femme. And, perhaps, the obligatory testosterone updates  ;)

Happy New Year to everyone who follows the Gregorian calendar!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2010 1:19 am

    Yay! Awesome! Yeah, I’d noticed there were fewer of the “oldies” posting these days. Even though I haven’t been as avid a blogger as I was a couple of years ago, I still kept track of my feeds all this time. But you’re probably right – I stopped looking for new blogs at one point so there is probably a whole new generation of trans bloggers out there. Hello???

    I was thinking at one point of doing the YouTube thing. If I do that, it will be as a complement to blogging because I’m way better at spontaneously expressing my thoughts in writing than verbally. It will also be when I’m back in Montreal because my internet connection up north is WAY too slow to upload vids. Heck, I have trouble even watching videos.

    Anyway, glad you’re doing it too! I look forward to your posts.

  2. genderkid permalink*
    December 31, 2010 12:53 pm

    I admire the courage of people who post on Youtube because it’s so… visible! Recognizable! I have uploaded a few videos but set them to be private (to say hi to friends/family who live far away & to record my transition). I express myself better through writing, too, but I admit that the visual/audible component of videos is a valuable resource. Lord knows how many videos I’ve watched to see the effects of testosterone and surgery!

    After posting, I remembered several blogs I started following in the past year or so, like Transfaggotry, XX Boy (one of the more reflective tumblr blogs) and Rooster Tails (a webcomic!). I need to update my blogroll!

  3. January 1, 2011 6:41 pm

    Welcome back!

Trackbacks

  1. New Year « Above and Beyond Gender

Leave a Reply

