Skip to content

What I’ve been up to

March 14, 2010

Here’s an update for those of you who’ve been following my personal journey (thanks for being there!). I’d like to expand on most of these topics later, so I’ll try to be brief.

–I’ve been on summer vacation for the past few months.

–My parents are ever more embracing of my trans identity: they don’t use male prounouns/names yet, but they try to avoid female ones. They’re also helping me with tons of stuff: coming out to family, finding open-minded doctors, asking for a name change at school… I never thought they would be so accepting, so quickly.

–I’ve found an endocrinologist who will work with me, although she has to send me to a hospital to get a T prescription (this week I’ll find out if they’re willing to treat me).

–The school year starts in a week. Although I’m beginning my first year of university (!), I’m going to take most of my classes at my secondary school. That’s because the University of Buenos Aires requires a full year of introductory courses, and a few schools (including mine) offer those classes to their students.

–I’ve been dealing with an anxiety/phobia issue that’s probably related to transitioning.

–I started going to the gym, where I was consistently perceived as male. I didn’t like it much, though, so I stopped going.

I’ve been very reclusive and introverted for the past few months — my infrequent posting attests to that, as I haven’t even been writing, let alone talking, much. I’ve always prized a certain degree of solitude, but this level of withdrawal hasn’t been good for my health. It’s a hard place to get out of, so I’ll start by trying to write a little more.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Will permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:52 pm

    Genderkid, it sounds as though it may be quite hard for you to talk about yourself at the moment. Good luck with the new school year, the hospital and everything else you’ve got going on. I don’t know how you experience it, but anxiety often makes me want to hide away from the world. It takes a lot of bravery to do what you’re doing, let alone share it with others. Thank you for posting.

  2. March 15, 2010 6:51 am

    I’m also glad to see you back with an update… thanks for being there. I wish I could write more about the gender stuff in my life… sometimes it seems way too huge to even approach. it’s great that you’re tackling it, and in a forum that others can read… we’re not alone. !!

  3. March 15, 2010 11:35 pm

    Thanks for the update. Best of luck with everything!!

  4. March 17, 2010 6:24 pm

    It’s hard for parents to come to terms with a queer child but it’s nice to see them moving in the right direction.

    http://queersunited.blogspot.com

  5. March 17, 2010 6:28 pm

    It takes time for parents to adjust to queer issues but it is great that they seem to be coming along and are affirming and trying to do what they can to help.

  6. joaquinjack permalink
    March 26, 2010 4:16 pm

    When you’re transitioning, it’s easy to get into this spot where you’ve seen just enough of the good things that come from it, but just enough of the ugly things, and the hard things, and the scary things, that you almost feel like you could just STOP-

    just stop living for a while, just hide from the world for a minute, just take a break and live in a place where gender isn’t a thing every other second-

    and you’re willing enough to sidestep the ugly things that you’ll put the good things on hold, too, just to be able to take a breather. Now, I don’t really think there’s anything wrong with that, at least in moderation. We all have our times of withdrawal, and as long as we remain aware that we’re sacrificing good times for the bad time, and we’re willing to pay that price-

    Hey, it’s your life.

    But I’ve found it’s also a good thing to come back out of that, as soon as I can catch my breath. It looks like you’re doing that, so kudos to you. The only thing that’s scarier to me than a life lived badly is one that’s not lived at all. You only get one, so live it to the fullest.

    :)

Leave a Reply

