Skip to content

A Series of Questions

August 22, 2009

A month ago, I posted about a “photo project on transphobic and gender-baiting questions”. The photographer just published a bunch of images online (hat tip to en|gender):How does your lover identify?

The subjects, self-identified people of transgender and transsexual experience, hold signs depicting questions that each has had posed to them personally– some by strangers, others by loved ones, friends, or colleagues. Presented on white wooden boards, the questions are turned on the viewer, shifting the dynamics under which they were originally asked, and prompting the viewer to cast a reflective, self-critical eye upon him or herself, revealing how invasive this frame of reference can be.

Several of the questions really resonated with me. “Who will want to date you?” “Are you sure this is right for you?” And the pictures are absolutely beautiful. Enjoy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 6:07 am

    hmm…I have seen a number of these projects around. I find it interesting because I have yet to see someone who does not look/pass as white, which opens up a lot of questions for me, especially considering who has the right to love whom and to what extent. Something which I grappled with when I began to publicly self-examine these questions in spaces very much the color of dominant queer spaces.

  2. August 24, 2009 9:24 am

    I like the idea and the photos so far are great. However, I’m a bit disappointed, like g531, that it’s predominantly white, and I’ll add, it’s also predominantly ftm-spectrum people… It seems like it would be fantastic if the project was more diverse.

  3. August 28, 2009 11:02 pm

    Thanks for sharing this project… the photos are really intriguing.

  4. September 11, 2009 6:07 pm

    Thank you for sharing my photographs on your blog, I am flattered and I appreciate it!

    I just wanted to comment to let people know this is an ongoing project that is being pursued over the span of several years, and that it is my intention to be inclusive as possible. I welcome any comments and questions people may have about “A Series of Questions”, and can be reached via email at questionphotoproject AT gmail DOT com.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly News Round-Up, 8/30/09 « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

