Skip to content

Completely optional

July 21, 2009

Just for fun, I copied all the gender terms from the Yay genderform and turned them into this image through Wordle (click to enlarge):

gender!

gender!

I like how the “none” is sticking right out of everything. And how “man” and “woman” are buried among a sea of other options.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 6:14 am

    Love it.

    What jumped to me is Checkdyke, which is two words but looks like one term. I mean, I identify mostly as lesbian and I wear checked shirts a lot. Am I a checkdyke? I think so!

  2. Chase permalink
    July 22, 2009 5:01 pm

    I enjoy that. I’ve filled out genderform twice and each time I’ve gotten too many options to logically list. :P
    But I love that Wordle. If my roomie would let me, I’d totally set that as my desktop background.

  3. July 23, 2009 1:35 pm

    I love the revelations that Wordle inspires. It provides an interesting bird’s eye view of your writing. The results are always interesting!

  4. joaquinjack permalink
    August 6, 2009 11:18 am

    I did this exact thing the second I read your post (I hope you don’t mind me stealing your idea) and liked the results so much that I posted it on my front page. What I really wanted to do was set it as a background, but since I’m shitpoor and can’t afford 15 bucks a year, I can’t go into the CSS editing of my theme, so it’s just going to have to sit there lonely at the bottom of my page.

    BTW, your blog is hardcore. I’m putting you on my blogroll.
    -Jack
    http://joaquinjack.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

