Skip to content

Swine Holidays

July 3, 2009

All schools in Argentina have just closed until August 3 due to the swine flu, which means one month of unexpected holidays. If you’re in the northern hemisphere, remember that it’s winter in the south, which means we shouldn’t be on vacation right now. Plus, it’s cold, so more people get sick. A lot of people are dying from swine flu around here, which is worrying since it shouldn’t be so serious.

This happened pretty suddenly, so I didn’t have the presence of mind to get something extracurricular out of the school library. I’ve been meaning to read Foucault’s History of Sexuality, although I’m not sure I’d understand it; now would be a good time to try. The library might just be open until today, so do you have any recommendations? Keep in mind that my school’s library mostly has classics.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 5:06 am

    hey genderkid! I was going to comment on your post about university (I read it on my feed reader) but then realized you had taken it down — or maybe there was a glitch or something — ? anyways, I am living in a small northeastern US city & can offer some general thoughts about gender stuff at northamerican universities… or I could set you up with email addresses of friends of mine who went through gender transitions (of various kinds) on college campuses (I’m a bunch of years out of school at this point), who might be able to offer some more specific thoughts & recommendations, if you’re considering coming to the US. (okay, that was a really long run on sentence.) email me if you like, feel free to delete this comment afterwards since it’s not relevant to the post!

  2. July 5, 2009 5:17 am

    books! I love “the left hand of darkness” and “the dispossessed” by Ursula K LeGuin, though I’m not sure if they count as classics of literature… I’ve been meaning to get my hands on “Far From the Madding Crowd” by Thomas Hardy, for a while now, but haven’t done it. it seems to be some good victorian character- and social-class-based drama, but I’m trying not to look at the summaries so I can be psyched about reading the book! my cousin quoted me some of its really good descriptive passages, with nice metaphorical language…

    I hope the swine flu doesn’t take any more of a terrible toll… yikes. healing thoughts to the hospitals and sick folks…

  3. July 5, 2009 6:44 am

    Seconding the Ursula K LeGuin recommendations, Left Hand of Darkness is my parent’s favourite book! And believe me, it’s awesome. If you like futuristic sci-fi I recommend anything by the father of modern sci-fi, William Gibson. Excellent stuff.

    As for health wise, stay safe please! I would be despondent without your musings.

    I also read your post on universities, and I would say that leaving my small (v. v. non queer friendly) home town was worth it simply to expand my horizons and learn that I wasn’t a freak, which was something I knew but had a hard time acknowledging anyway.

  4. genderkid permalink*
    July 5, 2009 4:18 pm

    Thanks for the recommendations, guys!

    I took that post down because I had gone slightly berserk before writing it. When I calmed down, I felt like I had said unjustified bad things about my country: I do like living here.

    I’m still considering studying abroad, though, so thanks for the info! Jean, I’ll write to you if I overcome the shyness : ) If I do leave, it’ll be more about expanding my horizons –like Julian said– and less about running away.

Leave a Reply

