Skip to content

Growing Taller with T

May 1, 2009

I’m pretty short. I’m almost as tall as the average girl –1.60m or 5′ 3”–, which makes me shorter than almost all the men I know. I don’t really mind –I don’t feel inferior because of my height or anything; I hardly even think about that– but maybe it would be easier if I were a little taller. I could find pants that actually fit, for instance.

What does annoy me is people’s attitudes towards short guys. I have a very short classmate and people are always teasing him about his height, while they don’t usually say anything about short girls. And whenever my friends are talking about the kind of men they like, they all agree that short guys aren’t attractive. I don’t think I can criticize their tastes, but I think it’s disrespectful to say that when I’m RIGHT THERE (they tend to forget I’m a boy).

Actually, I can’t think of many advantages that come from being tall; maybe reaching high shelves, but you can use steps for that. And I never had trouble with my height as a girl. But sometimes  feel hurried to take testosterone because if I start before the end of puberty, I might grow a little (I checked a biology textbook that said bone growth might continue until age 20). I don’t know if I need that, but I know I wouldn’t mind; and I don’t want to regret missing out on this possibility.

What would be great about growing is that my hips might narrow. The biology books I consulted say that estrogen makes hip bones grow wider (T does the same for the shoulders), so if T made me grow, maybe my hips would end up growing less than the rest of me. I’m usually more or less tolerant of my body, but I do not like having wide hips AT ALL. Anyway, my hips will look narrower with T because of the fat loss.

I also heard that testosterone has better effects if taken early, but I haven’t found much information about that. It seems to have great results at all ages; Gender Outlaw started as an adult and his feet grew, which would be useful for me (I never find men’s shoes in my size). I should ask Julian in a few months; he’s 18 and just started T. This kind of info is very important for deciding when to come out to my parents, so I’m still researching it.

I plan on telling my parents when I finish this school year, soon after turning 18, and I hoped to start T a few months later; but my psychologist thinks they will need a whole year to digest the information, so I should delay starting T. If that might mean missing the opportunity of having a body that’s better for me, I don’t know if I can wait. An alternative would be to tell them now and risk becoming an emotional mess in the middle of the school year, just so I can start T earlier. I’m trying to decide what my priorities are.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2009 8:41 pm

    It’s funny, it’s occured to me a few times that I am a short guy but I hadn’t thought about it that much. I grew really fast – I was at my current height (5’6″) at the age of 12, so I was tall for a girl and I always felt kind of awkward because of it. I felt huge next to all these tiny girls. Then I stopped growing and a lot of people (boys AND girls caught up and even surpassed me. But that feeling never really went away . . .until now.

    I do notice that I’m shorter than most of the guys I interact with and that several of the women I interact with are of a similar height or taller but it doesn’t seem to be much of an issue. Of course, the age of my social circle has a lot to do with it (late 20s and up).

    I’m not sure if you will grow taller. I guess scientific literature or your endocrinologist will know better. But it will be interesting to find out.

    If your hip bones don’t actually change, as you say, the fat redistribution will certainly change the way they look. Trust me! LOL

    • genderkid permalink*
      May 1, 2009 8:43 pm

      I remember your post about losing the “hip shelf” — loved that!

  2. May 1, 2009 9:33 pm

    La sociedad tiene si un temita con la altura de los hombres, se suele tener la concepción de que tiene que ser más alto que la mujer, si o si. Por ejemplo, antes de presentar a mis padres, la hermana de mi padre le dijo a mi madre “Qué lastima que mi hermano es más bajo que vos, si no te lo presentaría”, y llevan más de 30 años casados. Creo que pasa un poco por los roles tradicionales de género y la sensación (falsa, por cierto) de fuerza y poder que se le asigna a la altura. Se supone que ésta genera una sensación de protección en el otro, y que esto atraiga a las mujeres heterosexuales.
    Más allá de la comodidad que te puede implicar ser más alto en el futuro, tu altura actual no está mal. No creo que genere más dificultades a la hora de que la gente te vea como varón, como podría si generarlo el tema de las caderas. Es más un cliché que otra cosa.

    Mucho rant por hoy ¿no?

    • genderkid permalink*
      May 2, 2009 12:41 pm

      Es bueno saber eso de tus padres :-) (aún si no sé de qué género van a ser mis parejas)

      Creo que tenés razón acerca de la altura y los roles de género. Supongo que no me tengo que preocupar porque, similar a lo que dijo Julian, cualquier futura pareja mía no puede ser muy cerrada respecto a los géneros.

  3. May 1, 2009 11:08 pm

    The ironic part is I buy shoes from the little girl’s section of Nordstrom’s… I have very very small feet. Size 5 US… :( They don’t make men’s shoes that small ahahah.

    I’m a really really short guy, even shorter than you: 5 feet, 2 inches. But I’m not too concerned about it. If my potential partner can get over the fact that I’m trans, he’s probably not too fussed about my height.

    • genderkid permalink*
      May 2, 2009 12:37 pm

      You’re probably right about that; good point!

    • Lor permalink
      June 24, 2012 3:52 pm

      Can you buy shoes on line? I have a cismale friend who is very short and has small boy size feet, due to a medical condition and buys shoes on line that look good and are boy sizes I think. But they never seem too, young for him and he is over 60.

  4. May 4, 2009 6:48 am

    I can see the arguements for T now, I just wanted to let you know however that due to the nature of the development and addition of muscles in your feet and ankles your feet will likely grow between a 1/ 2 to 1 and a 1/2 sizes anyway (taking lateral motion like fencing is good, as is basketball which requires a foot lift-off.

    This will only occur once you are on T but will happen regardless of age, unless over 35 or so (not a problem in your case).

    Also you might want to check what is known as the ‘second puberty’ which occurs in XX females around 21, it is when that 6% fat moves to the face, the hips, and the final growth occurs (growth upward of up to three inches is not atypical – however for your size, I would not expect this). T will reduce the amount of fat available and you CAN reduce it to 2.5% (not highly recommended), and that will make your face masculine, but another good way to make your hips smaller is increase your thigh size, which can be done once on T (again, basket ball and fencing, particularly sabre and epee plus, hum, I think sculling/rowing does it as well) then boxing or other sports to develops the pecs, and the shoulders.

    We see sick people, our sick grandparents as so THIN, but all we are seeing is bone structure without much covering. It is how much covering that determines how a chest is determined, and the way the covering is used. Basically make muscle like clothes, accent what you want, deaccentuate what you don’t – once you begin T – which I am NOT saying one way or another. I am just pointing out some physiological aspects you may not have considered.

    Thank you for letting me read your words.

    • traslúcido permalink*
      May 6, 2009 10:09 pm

      Thank you, for all that information! I should look into those ways of changing my body without testosterone therapy.

  5. May 4, 2009 9:34 am

    Yeah, you’re young enough that you very well could get some t-growth, which would be pretty cool. I agree, it is annoying when people treat short men badly… it’s not a sign of being unmanly to be short, it just means you’re not all that tall!

  6. May 5, 2009 8:43 pm

    tough decision. I can see how it’s difficult to weigh out which is better in the long run.
    Jane

Leave a Reply

