Skip to content

We’re beautiful

January 21, 2009

Every now and then, someone arrives at this blog searching for erotic pictures of nude transboys. I hope these people are young transgender men looking for info, and not cisgender people wanting to get turned on; especially considering that all the searches are for transboys and not for transmen. I’d rather not be the object of someone’s fetish.

I guess it should be nice to know that there are people interested in dating transgender individuals. A lesbian friend once asked around, and she found out that all kinds of people —from lesbians and gay men to straight women— think transmen are hot. She says that even after transitioning we have a special, gentle way of being that comes from being raised as girls (ok, that’s a sweeping statement to make, but I was flattered).

I’m glad to know that my dating prospects won’t be damaged by my gender, but I think I’ll have to watch out for people willing to date me just because I’m trans. I hope I’ll always remember that I’m lovable because of who I am, and who I am is not (just) a transman.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Renee permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:07 am

    Every transman I’ve ever met has been nothing but charming and sweet. Perhaps it is because of, as you say, a different upbringing.

    I’ve been careful about voicing that because, as a transwoman, I kind of hate it when people imply that my upbringing somehow makes me different than other women. I’ve had women tell me how lucky I am to have that other perspective and I’m like, “No, no, please don’t say that!”. And it’s not so much because it isn’t true – although I think it’s less so than they realize – but because I just don’t want people I’m trying to build kinship with constantly drawing that line and pointing out how really different I am.

    Thanks for the post…very thought provoking.

  2. January 21, 2009 6:03 pm

    Dude, totally understand where you’re coming from. I hate being fetishised.

Leave a Reply

