Skip to content

We don’t want…

December 23, 2008

“We don’t want to be persecuted or discriminated against or killed or cured or analyzed or explained or tolerated or understood: we want to be desired.” -Néstor Perlongher (gay Argentinean writer)

Original Spanish: “No queremos que nos persigan ni que nos discriminen ni que nos maten ni que nos curen ni que nos analicen ni que nos expliquen ni que nos toleren ni que nos comprendan: lo que queremos es que nos deseen“. -Néstor Perlongher

I especially like the part where Perlongher objects to being explained or tolerated: both actions seem pretty condescending to me (unless we’re doing the explaining). I don’t usually like being in the presence of people who tolerate me as if I were a nuisance they’re kind enough to bear. I demand respect. And if possible, I’d like people to enjoy my company. Maybe even desire me.

(According to definr, to tolerate is “to put up with something or somebody unpleasant”; although one definition of tolerance is “willingness to recognize and respect the beliefs or practices of others”)

During my school’s Queer Arts Festival, there was a play that ended with the actors unfolding a huge banner with this phrase on it, while they sang a translation of Kimya Dawson’s Loose Lips. Strong combination:

“We won’t stop until somebody calls the cops/ and even then we’ll start again and just pretend that / nothing ever happened”

and

“If you want to burn yourself, remember that I love you / If you want to cut yourself, remember that I love you / If you want to kill yourself, remember that I love you / Call me up before you’re dead, we can make some plans instead / Send me an IM, I’ll be your friend.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 10:26 am

    I like this quote you included: “We don’t want to be persecuted or discriminated against or killed or cured or analyzed or explained or tolerated or understood: we want to be desired.” -Néstor Perlongher (gay Argentinean writer).

    I’d add that anyone human wants is to be included.

  2. genderkid permalink*
    January 2, 2009 3:49 pm

    Included! I may not like to be tolerated, but I do like to be included. Thanks for reminding me of that word; it’s perfect for what I want from society.

Leave a Reply

