Skip to content

Go, go, Thomas Beatie

December 15, 2008

This is a letter I’m going to send to a local LGBT magazine.

Thomas Beatie is pregnant again, and we can hear renewed criticism from the media and from within the trans community itself: some accuse him of mishandling the situation with journalists.

But I want to thank Thomas for the courage implied in commiting himself, in visibilizing the transmasculine community, in spite of the predictable misunderstanding by the general population. All transmen who decide to give birth –Thomas certainly wasn’t the first– risk the very male identity they’ve worked so hard to build by taking up such a traditionally female task.

They don’t only risk that: they might be fired from work or denied paternity leave; their medical insurance may not cover costs; they’re easy targets for transphobic violence. Plus, by abstaining from testosterone therapy until birth, they accept a temporary return to a feminine body accentuated by the pregnancy (an almost unimaginable sacrifice for someone counting the days until therapy, like me).

I want to thank Thomas: as the first transman I could see, I could hear, who made transmasculinity real for me, he catalyzed my acceptance of my own gender identity. And his fatherhood –labor of love, as he calls it– restored my hopes of having my own children someday.

Even if, for now, I don’t want to be the pregnant one.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Palme permalink
    December 17, 2008 6:35 pm

    Hi and many good luck from Sweden to your family !The tele sent it tonight and it was SO intresting and that cute babygirl..so adorable!
    Dont read or listen to all crap,see your self as Richard Gere ! ;))I guess many of them are jealus and wish they also could be in your situation! Once again GOOD LUCK and remember..dont listen to crap,there is so many beautiful things to see and listen to instead of crap! HUGS FROM US IN SWEDEN,TROLLHÄTTAN

  2. December 18, 2008 4:08 pm

    Great letter! I hope they publish it. Thomas Beatie really is a cool guy.

  3. genderkid permalink*
    December 19, 2008 2:05 pm

    Palme, I’m not Thomas Beatie; I just support him. Thanks for being so nice, though!

    And Eliot, I agree: he is cool.

Leave a Reply

