Skip to content

Talking on the radio (plus: look who was at Pride!)

November 5, 2008

Today, I spoke very briefly on the radio about “urban tribes” linked to sexual orientation. I had planned to elaborate on teenage sexuality, gender identity and the such; time didn’t allow for it, especially considering it was one of the country’s most important radio stations, but it was a nice experience.

Plus, during a commercial, I discussed with one of the reporters about sexuality and gender. She had said, on the show, that sexual orientation was a “choice”, and then she talked about sexual orientation when speaking about a trans person. I told her I disagreed, and later she clarified the “choice” misunderstanding on the show.

And, she approached me later about doing a piece on gay youth! Ok, I’m not lesbian like she thinks, but she’s probably interested in trans teens too. I’m not sure I want that kind of exposure, but visibility and dialogue are important; I guess we can arrange for privacy.

So, I’ve been very LGBT-active these days! I hope these small thing I’m doing will help, somehow.

Extra There were some U.S. citizens at the Pride March, and look what they brought. In the background, you can see the huge Comunidad Homosexual Argentina balloon and a rainbow flag hanging over the street.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 10:24 pm

    That’s really cool that you were able to be on the air, however briefly, on one of the country’s most important stations!

Leave a Reply

