Skip to content

‘Lo there

August 6, 2008

I feel I should introduce myself, to provide some context around upcoming posts.

First of all, I’m a Latin American living in Latin America. The beauty of the blogosphere is that I can live over here, and you can live way over there, but we can still connect through our words.

I’m still in high school and living with my parents. So, I have no idea whether my gender doubts are about identity or about raging hormones (or maybe hormones are a part of identity? Tough question).

I’ve been questioning my gender, on and off, for two years; I just didn’t think too much about the matter because I was discovering my queer sexuality at the same time. Plus, it was plain scary.

But I can’t ignore my gender identity anymore. For months I’ve been combing the internet for news articles, academic papers, websites, movies, whatever, on the subject.

Then I found a blog on gender by a genderqueer person. And you know how it is: from the blogroll you find a related blog, and the people who comments also have interesting blogs, and soon there’s no going back.

It makes you want your own blog to participate in the debate.

So voilà.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2008 1:25 pm

    Congrats on starting your own blog! I’ve subscribed and look forward to reading more.

  2. genderkid permalink
    August 11, 2008 4:10 pm

    Thanks! I’ve been reading blogs like yours and it made me want to be a part of the blogosphere (which is probably a compliment :-) )

Leave a Reply

